The Global Data Management Community

Certified Data Management Professional - General Information

The Certified Data Management Professional (CDMP) credential is awarded to those who qualify based on a combination of criteria including education, experience and test-based examination of professional level knowledge. This credential is offered at the Mastery or Practitioner level. To maintain certified status and continued use of the credential, an annual recertification fee along with a 3-year cycle of continuing education and professional activity is required.

CDMP Examination Criteria

The CDMP Practitioner certification is awarded to professionals who scored above 50% on all three exams. These individuals can contribute as a team member on assigned tasks for they have a working knowledge of concepts, skills and techniques in a particular data specialization.

The CDMP Mastery certification is awarded to professionals who scored 70% or higher on all three exams. These individuals have the ability to lead and mentor a team of professionals as they have mastered the concepts, skills and practices of their data specialization.

Exams may be retaken to improve your score and go from the Practitioner to the Mastery certificate level. You may be able to substitute select vendor certifications for up to one specialty exam.

Additional CDMP Certification Criteria

  CDMP Practitioner Certificate CDMP Mastery Certificate
# Years Data Professional Work Experience 4 8+
Substitute Up to 2 Years –Bachelor or Master Degree in an appropriate discipline for Work Experience 2 2
Recertification Required Yes
Continuing Professional Education/Activity Required 140 hours every 3-year cycle
Adhere to ICCP Code of Ethics Yes

Professional Examinations

The CDMP requires three ICCP exams: IS Core exam, Data Management Core exam, and one other exam of your choice. Both the IS Core and Data Management Core exams are mandatory for the CDMP.

The third exam is one of your choosing, depending on your work experience. The choices are: 

  • Data Warehousing 
  • Business Intelligence and Analytics   
  • Data & Information Quality 
  • Data Development
  • Data Operations (DBA)
  • Zachman Enterprise Architecture Framework2
  • Data Governance & Stewardship
  • Data Integration & Interoperability

If you have already passed one or more ICCP exams or already have another ICCP certificate, these exams or certificates can be used toward a CDMP if considered current by ICCP standards, and the exams are listed within your CDMP area of specialization.

The CDMP program was approved and came into existence at the January 2004 Meeting of the DAMA International Board of Directors.